Independent Study Proposal 2.0

Independent Study Proposal 2.0

This is an outline of my proposed independent study curricula at JFK and a statement of intent.

My deepest intention for my independant study curricula at JFK is that it be a context and an environment through which I can take my passion for the facilitation of personal process; the facilitation of clarity, the facilitation of empowerment, the facilitation of the embodiment of my deepest values, and through which I can synthesize those tools and cultivate my capacity to see clearly, act from an empowered and intentional place, recognize who it that I am being in each moment and who it is that I am capable of being, make new choices for myself and grow as an individuals.

In my profession I intend to become a masterful coach and facilitator, capable of inviting individuals through the fires of self inquiry.  I believe that in order to do this my training must include both a rite of passage and an in depth inquiry that utilizes the tools I intend to use.

This independent study proposal investigates the tools I wish to use, some of which I am already deeply familiar with, some of which are new.  It is an invitation to myself into my personal rite of passage and must include a vision quest of some form.  I will complete this with more confidence as a coach and facilitator, with an enhanced understanding of the inter-relationship between the practices I intent to use professionally, and with a clearly outlined marketing plan for re-initiating a client based interdisciplinary coaching practice.

All of these feeding my capacity to hold space for this in other people.

“Holding Space” refers to the building of my capacity to facilitate an experiential learning environment with ease, confidence and grace

My intent would be to have this span many dimensions.  It would be a context for personal inquiry, personal development, group inquiry, group process and professional development

personal
– personal inquiry (self)
– personal development (self)
– individual coaching (other)

group
– group inquiry (inner) – Interdisciplinary Coaching Group
– group facilitation (outer) – Deep Ecology Process Group

The elements that I would like to include are:

Processes:  (prioritized with a 1-10)

8 – The Sedona Method

This tool is a western adaptation of buddhist principles, and aids people in releasing attachments to specific experiences, aiding in the accessing of non-dual states of awareness, but specifically in very targeted areas of ones life.  Individuals can use this tool to clear attachment to financial freedom to make the creating of that experience more graceful and less turbulent, for example.

8 – “The Work” (Byron Katie)

In my experience, this is a process designed to facilitate inquiry into the truth.  It aids in orienting the student to the thoughts and beliefs which are most stressful, and through this provides a compass for ones personal process and for creating an experience of being at peace with what is.

9 – “Feeding your Demons”  – a Western adaptation of a Tibetan Buddhist Practice

In my experience, this is a tool capable of fostering a sense of wholeness and integration

9.5 – The “Integral Life Process”

9.5 – The “Big Mind” Process – Genpo Roshi

In my understanding, this is a process designed to facilitate movement from a fragmented psyche towards an experience of the “Free functioning, fully integrated Self.”  It is also designed to illustrate a bridge between dual and non-dual states of mind and provide an experience of crossing that bridge and sitting in non-dual states of awareness

10 – The “Sacred Intention, Sacred Manifestation” Process

In my understanding, this is a process designed to facilitate the accessing of one’s “sacred intent,” in any area of their life.  This provides an internal compass which students can use to align action with the realm of the sacred.

10 – The “Awareness of Being” Process

This is the process introduced to me by Vernice Salomar on day 1 of the World Religions class, which invites us to notice “who we were being” as we reflect through our day and its experiences.  In my experience it provides ease in stepping back from a situation and effortlessly shifting my state of being to one which is more conducive to that which I truly and most deeply value and yearn for.

Reading
The Sedona Method “Hale Dwoskin”
The Pema Chodron Audio Collection
Byron Katie’s “Loving What Is”
The book “Feeding your demons”
The relevant chapters of “The Integral Life” Process
6 – The “Get Clients Now” Textbook
Integral Psychology – Ken Wilber
“Conversations with God”

Video
“The Big Mind” Process

Assessments
Core Strengths Assessment
Enneagram Assessment

I would reference “The Wisdom of the Enneagram” to give words to my inquiry and growth.  The “Practices for Development” of my personality type within that text would also influence my inquiry and practice.

I would complete the Core Strengths Assessment to add confidence to my coaching and facilitation practice.

Guiding Principles
Staying Present to my experience (Pema Chodron, The Enneagram, Eckhart Tolle, Buddhism, Yogic Philosophy)

Process Groups:
Mens Group via MKP (Shadow Work) – weekly
Deep Ecology Group (Self Facilitated) – Bi – weekly
Interdisciplinary Coaching Group (Self Facilitated) – Bi-weekly

Personal Coaching of myself:
Susan Maida – Life Coach

Individual Coaching of others
(6 sessions for each toolset to be completed for free)
Sedona Method Coaching
Coaching with “The Work” Process as a guide
Feeding your demons – Individual Process Facilitation
Enneagram Coaching

Reflective Writing
The intent of the reflective writing would be to track my process and growth, to create an understanding that synthesizes these tools, principles and methodologies, and that places my personal process gently into the context of this synthesized understanding.  I hope that this would create a context within which the teaching of a course on Interdisciplinary Coaching would be validated within an academic context.

Expressive Writing
My deepest intent as a writer is to cultivate my capacity to navigate the archetypal realms and non-dual states of consciousness in creation of writing that inspires others and soothes the soul.

Points of Inquiry

Relational – outer
What is the relationship between these modalities?
Can an integral lens help to understand this?

Individual – inner
(directed internally, as if someone were asking me)
who are you?
what are you?
what happens through you?
what is your relationship with the natural world?
what is your deepest intention in relation to…
– survival, core needs
– finances, goals and relating to structure
– authority and the rebel archetype
– sexuality
– intimate relationships
– life partnership
– conditional love and manipulation
– unconditional love and big heart
– owning and speaking your truth
– your personal and archetypal expression
– your capacity to see with new eyes, to see the world, yourself, and others with a clean slate
– your relationship to the archetype of the teacher
– your relationship to the archetype of the student
– your relationship to the archetype of the sacred warrior
– your relationship to the archetype of the sacred activist
– your relationship to the archetype of big heart, big mind, the free functioning, fully integrated self

What is your deepest intention in relationship to:
– the work of byron katie
– the sedona method
– the big mind process
– the “feeding your demons” process
– david deida’s work
– the facilitation of personal process
– the facilitation of group process
– the notion of right livelihood

What is your calling?
– in relation to internal harmony
– in relation to wholeness
– in relation to the notion of having a sacred home space
– in relationship to right livelihood
– in relationship to your community
– in relationship to the survival of humanity

Leave a Reply

