The Sedona Method; Introduction, a Practice, and tools for letting go

This article is for individuals who want to learn the basics of the Sedona Method in its practical application. The benefits that I have gotten from working with this tool are manifold.

It compliments most of my other practices and tools for inquiry, and its format is so deeply rooted in awareness that I get really amazing insights from it on my false beliefs and where they are leading me. I really hold this tool to be a precious ally, and I hope it serves you like it has served me.

If you get value from this article, try a tour through our new App… it draws from the Sedona Method extensively:

Integral Inquiry Project

 

Why you might care

  • It supports intimacy with the immediacy of your experience
  • It supports letting go of difficult circumstances, emotions, attachments, and softening the negative impact of our shadow
  • It supports the accentuation of awareness, which in turn develops subjective awareness, emotional intelligence and connection with the essential, the intrinsic, and the undefinable qualities of life
  • It literally accelerates the maturation of consciousness (tons of evidence of this via developmental psychology)
  • It may provide you with new insights into your own ways of being, how you show up in the world and your process of unfoldment

Contents

  • How to use the Sedona Method – practice releasing the basic wants
  • Tools for difficult moments
  • Outline
  • Roots: where this practice came from

Introduction

This article contains a guide to identifying and releasing the basic wants, tools for some of the more difficult moments, and the origins of how this practice came into my life

How to use the Sedona method – basics 1

Make 3 lists.
Control, Security, Approval

  1. Under the list for control, note one thing that you would like to control right now.
  2. Write the symbol w/c, illustrating your want for control
  3. Release your wanting to control whatever it is
  4. Write one way in which you are seeking a sense of security
  5. Write the symbol w/s to illustrate your wanting of a sense of security
  6. Release your wanting of security
  7. Under the header of approval, write one way in which you would like to receive approval.
  8. Write the symbol w/a to illustrate your wanting of approval
  9. Release your wanting approval.

Repeat this process at least 3 times with each basic want, a total of 9 clearings

Once you have identified the basic want, the process of releasing can be really simple. In the book “The Sedona Method,” they say “remember that releasing is simply a choice.”

The process of releasing.

When you are ready to release a basic want, ask yourself these 3 questions. When you get to the third, consider it an invitation.
• Am I capable of releasing this want?
• Am I willing to release this want?
• When?

Tools for difficult moments

If you have difficulty releasing anything, this is a process that I have found useful. As quoted in one of my other articles, in the philosophy of Tantra Yoga contraction is seen neither as good nor bad, rather, it is said that “contraction creates an opening for further expansion.”

What I learned from this, is that when I am feeling stuck, and I want to let go, that I can go all the way into the experience of the stuckness and then let go from there. For me, I approach the process of “going into my stuckness,” or my experience of contraction, as a “whole being,” process. Rather then just feeling into it, I allow myself to experience the extreme of my somatic contraction, my emotional contraction, my breathing, my mind… I guide myself to the extreme and release from there. This is a component of the Emotional Release Method that Brandon Bays Teaches as well.

So, If you have any difficulty letting go of one of your desires, welcome the desire and everything that comes with it fully, and release from that place.

Alternatively, allow the desire to be present, feel it in your body, breathe into the place in your body where you feel it the most, and release from that place.

Finally, if you are still having trouble letting go of a desire, try what they refer to as “diving deep” in the Sedona Method text. Ask yourself “what is at the core of this,” follow the answer into your body, find the contracted place, and work towards resolving it. In this case I would invite you to resolve it by finding the contraction, breathing into it, allowing the intensity of it to magnify, and releasing it from that space.

Here is the Outline:

  • Welcome the desire fully
    • Release from that place
  • And/or
    • Allow the desire fully, feel it in your body
    • Breathe into that place where you feel it
    • Release from that place
  • If you have trouble with either of these
    • Ask yourself.. what is at the core of this?
    • Follow the answer into your body
    • Find the contraction
    • Breathe into it
    • Allow the intensity of it to magnify
    • Feel it all the way, and release it from this place

Roots: How this practice came into my life

I was introduced to the Sedona Method when I was living in Santa Cruz. At the time I was working for a really gifted web programmer, Leonardo Gonzalez, and things changed quickly at the office. Leonardo was offered 170K/year to take a job over the hill with Yahoo, and my position became irrelevant to the forward momentum of the company. I took the opportunity to dedicate more time to a passion of mine, coaching and facilitation for awareness – drawing from a multiple-discipline perspective.

I made my way down to Gateways Book Store. Gateways is a really expansive metaphysical bookstore with a lot of diversity. I took books like “I need your love, is that true,” by Byron Katie and “The Sedona Method,” by Hale Dwoskin off the shelves and starting playing with some of the processes that they contained. I reviewed a lot of different books, looking especially for effective experiential practices that I could use right away with myself and my clients.

I had a really, really powerful time exploring over that next 2 weeks, and the Sedona Method and Byron Katie’s book became my favorites. The exercise above is a super simple exercise from the “Sedona Method,” but it is enough of an introduction to provide you with a glimpse as to what these basic desire’s cost us when we are running after them or clinging to them.

I remember how surprised I was time after time to see thoughts that I knew so well, and had held so highly, reveal themselves to be related to trying to control or get the approval of others.

It was both heartbreaking and totally revealing and freeing. Through the process of this learning the lessons were integrated automatically, because I wasn’t working cognitively. I was learning through insight, realization, and awareness… the changes in my perspectives came from within.

I remember tying the two practices together, that of the Sedona Method and that of Byron Katie, which I will outline in another blog. I learned a lot.

Sincerely
Jonathan Haber

Additional Resources

Share

2 thoughts on “The Sedona Method; Introduction, a Practice, and tools for letting go

  1. Hi everyone! This post is nice, I wrote it years ago… you would probably be even more interested in being walked through this yes? I built an app for that! Check it out at Integralinquiryx.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

